Organic Restaurants

Ryokan Usagiyama Hasenberg in Widen

As you may already know, we are very interested in Japanese culture and love Japanese food. As a consequence, it was a great experience for us to get to know the only Ryokan in Europe. A Ryokan is a traditionally decorated Japanese hotel. At the Ryokan Hasenberg, located in the heart of Switzerland, you’ll find a very diverse culinary offer. Guests can choose between the sushi bar, the à la carte restaurant and the exquisite Kaiseki restaurant called Usagiyama. We enjoyed a wonderful Kaiseki menu, which consisted of eight courses.

Here our Kaiseki gourmet menu review for the Ryokan Usagiyama in Widen.

Hotel Hasenberg
Ryokan Usagiyama
Hasenbergstrasse 74
8967 Widen
reservation@hotel-hasenberg.ch
+41 (0) 56 648 40 00

Quality  
The quality of the organic Kaiseki food at Ryokan Hasenberg is amazing. The Kaiseki cuisine offers complex authentic dishes from the 16th century Japan, which is made of particularly high-quality ingredients. It can only be prepared by specially trained chefs. We were amazed because the food was so beautifully arranged. Regarding the taste, it was also very convincing. Some courses were rather simple, while others contained a variety of special components. Prospi’s highlight was the grilled aubergine marinated with miso and mirin. I especially enjoyed the rice-paper rolls with vegetables and avocado, which were served with a brilliant sauce. Our eight courses were all purely plant based. A lot of different vegetables were used. Since the traditional temple kitchen in Japan is vegan anyway, it is no problem for the Ryokan Usagiyama to prepare wonderful meals without animal products. Just let them know in advance if you wish a vegan or vegetarian menu. The same applies to allergen-free options. The eight courses were all very light. The goal is not that the guests feel heavy and energyless after eating. We like this philosophy very much. Since we came very hungry and the meal took a relatively long time, the total quantity was just right. We felt satisfied and good at the end. In the Kaiseki tradition, there is also the effort to make the guests work as less as possible. Therefore, the dishes are prepared in small portions, which do not have to be cut.

Service  
According to tradition, the Kaiseki menu is served by specially trained service staff wearing a kimono. The friendly lady who served us was very reserved and spoke English. Between the courses, we didn’t have to wait long. Sometimes, we got the next food even a bit too early. It is very helpful if you can eat with chopsticks. Otherwise, there would be no problem to ask for a spoon in the Ryokan Usagiyama. The sympathetic and humorous manager accompanied us through the menu. We were able to learn a lot about the culinary history of Japan.

Ambience  
As mentioned, the Ryokan Hasenberg is decorated in Japanese style. This is especially true for the Kaiseki area. There, the guests are asked to take off their shoes and sit down at a long and low table. However, as a European adaptation, there is a hole under the table so that you can still stretch your legs. There are also some European tables with chairs. The room is bright and golden and contains many pictures and decorative elements. The Ryokan Hasenberg is surrounded by nature. We had a great view from our place and felt extremely comfortable.

Price  
The Kaiseki menu at the Ryokan Hasenberg is rather expensive, which totally makes sense if you consider the quality preparation and the number of courses. It is a great experience for a special occasion or for people with a passion for Japanese culture.

On the menu, all eight courses were described.

As a drink, Prospi ordered a Japanese beer.

First course: Yuba, a Japanese specialty based on soy, served with edamame.

Second course: Veggie soup with vegan dashi, made of seaweed and shiitake.

Third course: Variation of appetizers.

Fourth course: Rice-paper rolls with veggies and avocado such as maki sushi made with soba noodles instead of rice.

Fifth: Grilled eggplant with red miso paste and mirin.

Sixth: Kohlrabi with white miso paste.

Seventh course: Beautiful vegetable sushi and a miso soup

Eighth course: Sweet azuki bean soup with sticky rice dumplings.

Here our Kaiseki story video.

Do you know the Usagiyama or the Ryokan Hasenberg?

Then leave a comment with your experience. This is valuable to us and to other readers.

Kind regards,

Lisa

You Might Also Like

  • Book Recommendation

    Plenty
  • No Comments

    Leave a Reply

Bio-Restaurants

Ryokan Usagiyama Hasenberg in Widen

Wie ihr vielleicht schon wisst, interessieren wir uns sehr für die japanische Kultur und lieben japanisches Essen. Entsprechend war es für uns ein grossartiges Erlebnis, das einzige Ryokan Europas kennenzulernen. Ein Ryokan ist ein traditionell eingerichtetes japanisches Hotel. Im Ryokan Hasenberg in der Innerschweiz gibt es ein sehr vielfältiges kulinarisches Angebot. Die Gäste können auswählen zwischen der Sushi-Bar, dem à la carte Restaurant und dem exquisiten Kaiseki-Restaurant namens Usagiyama. Wir genossen ein wunderbares Kaiseki-Menü, das aus acht Gängen bestand.

Hier unser Review zum Kaiseki Gourmet Menü im Ryokan Usagiyama in Widen.

Hotel Hasenberg
Ryokan Usagiyama
Hasenbergstrasse 74
8967 Widen
reservation@hotel-hasenberg.ch
+41 (0) 56 648 40 00

Qualität  
Die Qualität der biologischen Kaiseki-Speisen im Ryokan Hasenberg ist grossartig. Die Kaiseki-Küche bietet liebevolle und komplexe authentische Gerichte aus dem Japan des 16. Jahrhunderts, die aus besonders hochwertigen Zutaten bestehen. Sie kann nur von speziell ausgebildeten Köchen zubereitet werden. Wir kamen immer wieder ins Staunen, weil das Essen so wunderschön angerichtet war. Auch geschmacklich hat es uns sehr überzeugt. Einige Gänge waren eher simpel, während andere eine Vielfalt an raffinierten Komponenten enthielten. Prospis Favorit war die grillierte Aubergine, die mit Miso und Mirin mariniert war. Mich begeisterten insbesondere die Reispapier-Röllchen mit Gemüse und Avocado, die mit einer genialen Sauce serviert wurden. Unsere acht Gänge waren alle rein pflanzlich. Entsprechend wurde mit sehr viel verschiedenen Gemüsesorten gearbeitet. Da die traditionelle Tempelküche in Japan sowieso vegan ist, stellt es für das Ryokan Usagiyama kein Problem dar, die Gäste ohne tierische Produkte zu verwöhnen. Man sollte einfach vorher Bescheid geben. Dasselbe gilt für vegetarische oder allergenfreie Optionen. Die acht Gänge waren alle sehr leicht. Das Ziel ist nämlich nicht, dass sich der Gast am Ende schwer und energielos fühlt. Diese Philosophie gefällt uns sehr gut. Da wir mit grossem Hunger kamen und das Essen relativ lange dauerte, war die Gesamtmenge genau richtig. Wir fühlten uns am Ende angenehm gesättigt. Weiter gibt es in der Kaiseki-Tradition auch die Bemühung, dem Gast möglichst viel Arbeit abzunehmen. Deshalb werden die Speisen in kleinen Portionen angerichtet, die man nicht zerschneiden muss.

Service  
Wie es traditioneller Brauch ist, wird das Kaiseki-Menü von speziell ausgebildetem Servicepersonal im Kimono serviert. Die freundliche Dame, die uns bediente, war sehr zurückhaltend und sprach Englisch. Zwischen den Gängen mussten wir nicht lange warten. Manchmal bekamen wir die nächste Speise sogar etwas zufrüh. Der sympathische und humorvolle Geschäftsführer begleitete uns durch das Menü. Wir konnten viel Spannendes zur kulinarischen Geschichte Japans lernen. Es ist sehr hilfreich, wenn man mit Stäbchen essen kann. Ansonsten könnte man im Ryokan Usagiyama auch problemlos nach einem Löffel fragen.

Ambiente  
Wie erwähnt, ist das Ryokan Hasenberg japanisch eingerichtet. Dies gilt insbesondere für den Kaiseki-Bereich. Dort wird der Gast gebeten, seine Schuhe auszuziehen und sich an einen langen tiefen Tisch zu setzen. Allerdings wurde als europäische Adaption ein Loch unter dem Tisch eingebaut, sodass man seine Beine trotzdem hinunterhängen lassen kann. Ebenfalls gibt es einige europäische Tische mit Stühlen. Der Raum strahlt golden und enthält viele Bilder und Dekoelemente. Das Ryokan Hasenberg liegt mitten in der Natur. Wir hatten von unserem Platz aus eine tolle Aussicht und fühlten uns extrem wohl.

Preis  
Das Kaiseki-Menü im Ryokan Hasenberg ist entsprechend der qualitativen Zubereitung und den vielen Gängen eher teuer. Es ist ein grossartiges Erlebnis, das man sich zu einem besonderen Anlass oder aus Interesse an der japanischen Kultur gönnt.

Auf dem Menü sind alle acht Gänge beschrieben.

Als Getränk bestellte sich Prospi ein japanisches Bier.

Gang 1: Yuba, eine japanische Spezialität auf Sojabasis, serviert mit Edamame.

Gang 2: Eine Gemüsesuppe mit veganem Dashi, hergestellt aus Riementang und Shiitake.

Gang 3: Vorspeisen-Variation.

Gang 4: Reispapier-Röllchen mit Gemüse und Avocado sowie Maki-Sushi mit Sobanudeln an Stelle von Reis.

Gang 5: Grillierte Aubergine an roter Misopaste und Mirin.

Gang 6: Kohlrabi mit weisser Misopaste.

Gang 7: Wunderschöne Gemüse-Sushis und eine Misosuppe.

Gang 8: Süsse Azukibohnensuppe mit Klebreis-Knödeln.

Hier unser Kaiseki Story Video.

Kennst du das Usagiyama oder das Ryokan Hasenberg?

Dann hinterlasse doch einen Kommentar mit deinen Endrücken. Das ist wertvoll für uns und die anderen Leser.

Grüsse

Lisa

Verwandte Artikel

  • Wein Empfehlung

  • Keine Kommentare

    Leave a Reply